building a off road/on road go kart

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrjulien1

Reaction score
i decided to build a go kart with a motorcycle engine 55hp or so and trans im using angle iron for the frame but im not sure what im going to do for the brakes and steering if anyone has any ideas that are simple to build and can be made cheeply as i have a very small budget {under $300 for the whole kart but i have alot of the stuff allready} also i am new to welding so not to complicated thx

Reaction score
Sounds like a heck of a project! Do you have any pics of the engine/clutch/drive assembly you want to use?

For brakes, I'd probably go with some discs... Since you're talking about a lot of power. There are various setups available based on your axle type. So I'd start there -- thinking about the drivetrain, and then let's brainstorm some more after that.

jrjulien1

Reaction score
i dont have the motor or trans yet but im going to be picking one up soon from either a junk yard or a person selling one whichever shows up first

jrjulien1

Reaction score
also dose anyone know what type of tires i should use to get enough traction on road without sacrificing off road grip i was thinking about lawn tractor tires but i thought they might not be able to handle the speed {probably over 70km/ph} although i might use wheelbarrow tires for the front and upgrade the berings to needle berings

Reaction score
hmm. well, you've got a lot of uknown right now.

1) 300 is a pretty low budget if you want to have some heavy-duty mods. If you want off road, you'll probably want a solid (live) axle. but if you want on-road, you either need a single axle, or a differential. I write about this stuff on the site here.

2) Tires: Big tires in the back would be good for your traction. Yes, wheel barrow will probably work up front with some better bearings, and they'll be a little bigger for your clearance.

jrjulien1

Reaction score