Electric motor based Dyno build

busted_blocks

Reaction score
I did a bunch of research into home built dyno's. There are a lot of options and the simplest is probably something based on a motorcycle brake. For me though, I want something that can run continuously at 10kW or there abouts. I started playing with some numbers and a hydraulic based system would be complicated and pretty expensive. They can be reasonably priced if you don't want to run continuously. I also set a budget for this project of $500. Now to be fair this is a soft limit but still, if I had to spend double, I'd be pretty annoyed with myself.

Design goals:
Test engines up to 20+HP
Continuous run ability up to 10kW
Cost under $500
Simulate arbitrary engine loading patterns (simulate track conditions)
Log to a computer

I came up with the idea to use a large permanent magnet motor as my load. By shorting the windings together, I should be able to create resistance for the motor. Using some electronics to PWM the short condition on/off I can simulate different loading. I've tried this manually and it works, but I have yet to test it with electronics. Fingers crossed this works.

I've been sourcing scrap yard parts to keep the cost down. I found a used electric car motor. It's 80kW, water cooled and free shipping. So that's what I'm going wtih. I found a metal frame from something that had welded tabs on the bottom where I can install my isolation feet, so my neighbors downstairs don't hate me. I already have the isolation feet so I won't count those in my budget :). Metal frame is way way overkill, but cheap so what the heck. I did weld on an extra bar as originally there was some kind of roller. My welds look like the dogs breakfast, but so far I haven't had any fail.