Mini Bike Gearing with TC

jdschwass

Reaction score
Heyall, I'm new to mini bikes, and I have to say this is quite a slippery slope!
I picked up a Coleman CT200U-EX less than two weeks ago. I have installed a stage 1 kit so far along with a 30 series torque converter. I'm running the stock 50T rear sprocket with a 10T drive sprocket.
Hisun 198cc engine. The engine is stock internally.
The bikes performs very well, but I feel I am being limited on my top end. Flat out on the road I can't break 40MPH, and I'm only 170lbs. My revs at full speed are maxing out at about 4000, maybe a bit higher with a tail wind. Even with stock internals, I should be able to go higher in the rev range than this.

Setting a goal with a 5500rpm red line, and fully understanding the limitations of a stock engine, I ordered a 60T rear sprocket. My theory is that by reducing the gearing will allow me to rev higher at speed, and provide more torque down low, gaining me both torque and speed. In theory. I was hoping someone has run into the same issue.

I won't have the new sprocket until next week, so in the meantime I plan to move the spring over on the driven clutch so that it takes a little longer to go into OD. If the 60T sprocket ends up being too tall, I also have a 12T sprocket for the front that I could swap in. But based on the ratio calculators, going to a 60T should put me back into a realistic top speed range of 45-50MPH, rather than 60MPH currently, giving me more useable range within the available engine operating speeds.

I think my logic checks out, but purely theoretical based on lying awake at night thinking about it. I was hoping someone might have some real world experience to substantiate my theory.

Much appreciated. Cheers.

Possom Point

Reaction score