odd ball questions for odd ball build

nobled2

Reaction score
I am a teacher working with students on a Solar Charged, electric motor, go kart. Pulled it out of mothballs last year, wired everything up and finished 2nd with borrowed batteries.

Some of the parameters on the charging side are going to change this year (not sure what yet) but we are trying to find ways to improve the kart overall, rolling resistance, less friction everywhere.

Better bearings and different front wheels/tires seem like a good start and we are open to suggestions

The kart we are working with is a Kandi Model 49FM5 with a Motenergy ME0909 electric motor powering it. We currently have 12 tooth sprocket on motor and 44 tooth on axle

Attachments

• 2022 Kart.jpg
    2022 Kart.jpg
    5 MB · Views: 24

faultsafe

Reaction score
? How many watts is that solar panel?

I feel like this is mostly being driven by the power of the battery and just trickle recharges via solar.

nobled2

Reaction score
? How many watts is that solar panel?

I feel like this is mostly being driven by the power of the battery and just trickle recharges via solar.
It most definitely is driven by the batteries. The trick is to run the heat as fast as you can while not draining the battery down so far that it doesn't have time to recharge before next heat starts. Heats start every 30 minutes so if your heat takes 9 minutes to run 2 1.88 mile laps, you have 21 minutes to sit and charge.

We are running 3 270 watt panels now but that should change this year

Premium bearings, super thin tires with loads of PSI in them. I'll leave the rest to your imagination.
Good source and/or brand for bearings?? We are currently running small utility trailer tires on rear with 4x4 lug pattern with shorter wide tires mounted on 3 lug front hubs that I would love to swap out for hubs and bearings with same pattern (4x4 lug) as rear.

ezcome-ezgo

G'me sumthin to write on
Reaction score