Torquing rod bolts?! (Please help!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

oscaryu1

Reaction score
I have no idea how to get to the destined torque... (ARC Rod - 170 with 30wt oil), how do I know when I have gotten there?

Do I need a special tool? A torque wrench with a meter? :confused:

Please help! Pictures or such will be greatly appreciated!

ironman

I'm Back!
Reaction score
this is a must have tool osacryu1 i don't understand something how have you work on all these motors and know all this stuff but have never used a torque wrench.the wrench will make a click once you have hit set amount of pressure you are wanting.

jr dragster T

Reaction score
I agree you have built all these engines an expect some of them to hit 7500-8000 Yeah right! Without the right torque's Get ready to pick up some peices after a run.

oscaryu1

Reaction score
I haven't completed them yet... notice I'm still learning? I expect them to hit that high, and you can't deny that I don't have a good chance of it.

There was a reason I didn't place the side covers on.

Put it this way: No one in my family knows about mechanics. I had to start from scratch... Unlike most of yall.

So gimmie a break... Notice how all my projects are "still in progress"? Not done and never coming back? Sheesh...

ironman

I'm Back!
Reaction score
ok got you ..just the way you talk sometime it seems like you have done all this already so all your knowledge if from reading correct. have you been able to drive your kart yet even when you first got it.
that good for never messing with motors you have learn lot in a short time .

oscaryu1

Reaction score
Yes I have... there's a reason the 3.5 is in bits right now.

The way I talk?! But I'm only 13 :( (Or so you think... muhahahahahaha)

Got the Corvette kart back in December of 06. 3 months later... the engine died.

Boo hoo. At my young and stupid age (story of my life :D), I took it apart... and didn't know how to put it back together...