2017 - Pair of Arachnids - DNF

Status
Not open for further replies.

thinwater

Reaction score
I decided to build an Arachnid for my entry. It is a more complex build with full suspension and has more "Points" potential per the rules than other designs within my ability to build. I am a machinist, not a fabricator so I will have to rely on those skills to make this a near perfect build, and WIN!!!!!

Here is my materials pile. I got in 4 sticks of 1 1/4" and 2 sticks of 1" at the shop today. I cut it to size with an abrasive chop saw. This is just the "Main frame" that I cut today. I will try and do one of the sub frames each day to get it done in a reasonable length of time.

I am making two because my business partner wants one also.

Attachments

• my metal cut up.jpg
    my metal cut up.jpg
    197.7 KB · Views: 23

thinwater

Reaction score
My chop saw sucks for getting any angle correct so I used my CNC mill to cut the ends of the metal.

I drew each angle required in the CAD software, and made a program for each angle needed.

The mill was set up with a digital probe so the cuts would be perfect (In fab terms, in machining they are + or - .001" or better).

Attachments

• my frame in mill.jpg
    my frame in mill.jpg
    213.3 KB · Views: 13

thinwater

Reaction score
Here is how it looks after cutting a piece in the mill.

Attachments

• my mill cut.jpg
    my mill cut.jpg
    238.2 KB · Views: 13

thinwater

Reaction score
We got two main frames done last night. This is one on the floor checking to see if it all fit. It does!

Now that I have the programs for all of the parts I could build my own fleet of them.

Attachments

• my framelaid out.jpg
    my framelaid out.jpg
    179 KB · Views: 14

pRoFiT

Can't buy it?, build it!
Reaction score
Wow, I'm going to have to step up my game to compete against a walking spider! Cant wait to see it running.